NORTH CAROLINA INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION

Help Line: (800) 688-8349, (919) 807-2501, or infospec@ic.nc.gov
Fraud and Insurance Compliance Hotline: (888) 891-4895 or fraudcomplaints@ic.nc.gov

Deputy Commissioners Section

NCIC Deputy Commissioners

Mission Statement

The Deputy Commissioners, Special Deputy Commissioners, and Legal Assistants of the North Carolina Industrial Commission endeavor to fairly, impartially, and efficiently adjudicate contested claims by careful application of the law; by adherence to rules and procedures; by encouraging settlement wherever possible; and by providing timely and excellent customer service to all parties.

Who We Are

Deputy Commissioners expeditiously resolve all controversies between injured workers, employers, carriers, providers, various citizens of the State of North Carolina, and the State of North Carolina that arise under the North Carolina Workers’ Compensation Act and the North Carolina State Tort Claims Act. We provide citizens an opportunity to be heard in a professional, ethical, and courteous manner and render legally sound and impartial decisions after thoroughly considering the positions of all parties and the law. We seek to promote the goals and maintain the integrity of the North Carolina Workers’ Compensation Act and the North Carolina State Tort Claims Act and promote their administration. Deputy Commissioners conduct full evidentiary hearings throughout the State, hear administrative motions, conduct administrative appeal hearings, review complex agreements, review settlement agreements, and handle other matters. Typically, litigants do not have contact with the Deputy Commissioner Section until a claim is assigned to an individual Deputy Commissioner. The Deputy Commissioners are judicial officers, and the Deputy Commissioner section does not provide legal advice or advocate for any party.

Master List of Cases for Docketing

The Trial Docket, indicating Deputy Commissioner case assignments, is posted on the Industrial Commission website at http://www.ic.nc.gov/dockets.html. The link to the Master List of Cases for Docketing by the Deputy Commissioners Section can be accessed by clicking HERE. Links to the cases are at the bottom of the memorandum. Cases are listed by Region/I.C. File Number, Alphabetically by Plaintiff, and Alphabetically by Defendant and by the Deputy Commissioner Assigned.

This posting changes four times each month. There is a Preliminary Posting, Second Posting, Final Posting and Deputy Commissioner Assignments. Please consult this link regularly for the latest docketing information.

Deputy Commissioner's Decisions

The NC Industrial Commission provides public access to databases that allow citizens to access information about Workers' Compensation cases and Tort claims. Deputy Commissioners' Opinion & Awards and Decision & Orders may be viewed by researching this database. There are four full- text searchable parts of the database accessed through Livelink™.

NCIC Livelink™ Databases

The Industrial Commission offers public access to four databases:

  • Full Commission Decisions since December 1994
  • Deputy Commissioner Decisions since March 2000
  • NC Supreme Court & NC Court of Appeals slip opinions since 1994
  • NC Industrial Commission Rules and NC General Statutes related to Workers' Compensation

There are three additional options to search combinations of all four databases simultaneously.

Click here to access the Livelink™ Database

NOTE: To log in to Livelink™, type public in all lowercase letters in both the Username: and Password: text boxes, and then click the Log-in button.

For suggestions on how to generate more productive searches, see Search Tips.

Deputy Commissioners

Below is a list of the Deputy Commissioners and Support Staff along with their contact information. Deputy Commissioners may be contacted by phone through their Administrative Assistants.

NC Industrial Commission General Contact Information can be found HERE

Name Title Email Phone
Sumit Gupta Interim Chief Deputy Commissioner sumit.gupta@ic.nc.gov
    Sandra Cortes Administrative Assistant/
Trial Court Administrator
sandra.cortes@ic.nc.gov (919) 807-2559
    Cassalyn Sands Administrative Assistant cassalyn.sands@ic.nc.gov (919) 807-2632
Philip A. Baddour III Deputy Commissioner philip.baddour@ic.nc.gov
    Kim Campbell Administrative Assistant kim.campbell@ic.nc.gov (919) 807-2653
J. Brad Donovan Deputy Commissioner brad.donovan@ic.nc.gov
    Patricia A. Hixson Administrative Assistant patricia.hixson@ic.nc.gov (919) 807-2675
Lori A. Gaines Deputy Commissioner lori.gaines@ic.nc.gov
    Angela Coston-Franulovich Administrative Assistant angela.costonfranulovich@ic.nc.gov (910) 862-6011
James C. Gillen Deputy Commissioner jim.gillen@ic.nc.gov
    Mari Hall Administrative Assistant mari.hall@ic.nc.gov (828) 318-0286
Melanie Wade Goodwin Deputy Commissioner melanie.wade.goodwin@ic.nc.gov
    Mackenzie Fretz Administrative Assistant mackenzie.fretz@ic.nc.gov (919) 807-2529
    Kim Campbell Penalty/Contempt Assistant kim.campbell@ic.nc.gov
Myra L. Griffin Deputy Commissioner myra.griffin@ic.nc.gov
    Carol Abbott Administrative Assistant carol.abbott@ic.nc.gov (919) 807-2545
Robert J. Harris Deputy Commissioner robert.harris@ic.nc.gov
    Brandi Branch Administrative Assistant brandi.branch@ic.nc.gov (980) 523-9988
David M. “Mark” Hullender Deputy Commissioner mark.hullender@ic.nc.gov
    Fonda Brittain Administrative Assistant fonda.brittain@ic.nc.gov (980) 523-9987
Brian P. LiVecchi Deputy Commissioner brian.livecchi@ic.nc.gov
    Kyle Jones Administrative Assistant kyle.jones@ic.nc.gov (252) 364-9021
Thomas H. Perlungher Deputy Commissioner thomas.perlungher@ic.nc.gov
    Kyle Jones Administrative Assistant kyle.jones@ic.nc.gov (252) 364-9021
Adrian A. Phillips Deputy Commissioner adrian.phillips@ic.nc.gov
    Kristen Calcaterra Administrative Assistant kristen.calcaterra@ic.nc.gov (919) 807-2530
Dane R. Scalise Deputy Commissioner dane.scalise@ic.nc.gov
    Angela Coston-Franulovich Administrative Assistant angela.costonfranulovich@ic.nc.gov (910) 862-6011
John C. Schafer Deputy Commissioner john.schafer@ic.nc.gov
    Mary Roussel Administrative Assistant mary.roussel@ic.nc.gov (919) 807-2586
William H. “Bill” Shipley Deputy Commissioner bill.shipley@ic.nc.gov
    Mari Hall Administrative Assistant mari.hall@ic.nc.gov (828) 318-0286
Michael Silver Deputy Commissioner michael.silver@ic.nc.gov
    Crystal Layne Administrative Assistant crystal.layne@ic.nc.gov (336) 293-9242
Leigha B. Sink Deputy Commissioner leigha.sink@ic.nc.gov
    Fonda Brittain Administrative Assistant fonda.brittain@ic.nc.gov (980) 523-9987
Jesse M. “Jay” Tillman Deputy Commissioner jesse.tillman@ic.nc.gov
    Brandi Branch Administrative Assistant brandi.branch@ic.nc.gov (980) 523-9988
Tyler Younts Deputy Commissioner tyler.younts@ic.nc.gov
    Crystal Layne Administrative Assistant crystal.layne@ic.nc.gov (336) 293-9242

Mailing Addresses

When sending correspondence to the Deputy Commissioners Section via US Mail, please use one of the following addresses:

Main Office:
Deputy Commissioner "Name"
NC Industrial Commission
4338 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-4338
Asheville Regional Office:
Deputy Commissioner "Name"
NC Industrial Commission
P.O. Box 2326
Asheville, NC 28802
Charlotte Regional Office:
Deputy Commissioner "Name"
NC Industrial Commission
P.O. Box 562008
Charlotte, NC 28256
Elizabethtown Regional Office:
Deputy Commissioner "Name"
NC Industrial Commission
P.O. Box 824
Elizabethtown, NC 28337
Greenville Regional Office:
Deputy Commissioner "Name"
NC Industrial Commission
P.O. Box 20277
Greenville, NC 27858
Winston-Salem Regional Office:
Deputy Commissioner "Name"
NC Industrial Commission
P.O. Box 21463
Winston-Salem, NC 27120

Site Search