NORTH CAROLINA INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION

Help Line: (800) 688-8349, (919) 807-2501, or infospec@ic.nc.gov
Fraud and Insurance Compliance Hotline: (888) 891-4895 or fraudcomplaints@ic.nc.gov

Compliance

NCIC Compliance Division

Our Mission

The Compliance Division works with North Carolina businesses to ensure compliance with the insurance requirements of the North Carolina Workers’ Compensation Act.

Compliance

The Compliance Division handles civil cases involving employers who are operating as noninsured employers in violation of N.C. Gen. Stat. § 97-93 and N.C. Gen. Stat. § 97-94. An employer is considered non-insured if the employer is subject to the Workers’ Compensation Act but does not carry workers’ compensation insurance or does not obtain a license from the Commissioner of Insurance as a self-insured employer. The Compliance Division investigates referrals to determine whether an employer is subject to the Workers’ Compensation Act and, if so, whether the employer is compliant with the Act in terms of insurance requirements. An administrative penalty can be assessed for a period that the employer was subject to the Act but not compliant in terms of insurance requirements. The Compliance Division also assists the North Carolina Department of Justice with the enforcement and collection of penalty assessments and facilitates adjudication of contested penalty cases and settlements.

Compliance Contacts

The Compliance Division consists of a Director, an Assistant Director, five compliance officers, one compliance examiner, two compliance assistants, and four paralegals. The telephone numbers and e-mail addresses for the Compliance Division are as follows:

Title Name E-mail Phone Fax
Director Shannon Wharry shannon.wharry@ic.nc.gov (919) 716-1735 (919) 807-2696
Assistant Director Lauren White Halbert lauren.halbert@ic.nc.gov (919) 716-1738 (919) 807-2696
Compliance Officer René Cossin rene.cossin@ic.nc.gov (919) 716-1702 (919) 807-2696
Compliance Officer Frank Ramirez frank.ramirez@ic.nc.gov (919) 716-1704 (919) 807-2696
Compliance Officer Victoria Wise victoria.wise@ic.nc.gov (919) 716-1705 (919) 807-2696
Compliance Examiner Shelia Hall shelia.hall@ic.nc.gov (919) 716-1706 (919) 807-2696
Compliance Assistant Gina Bunn gina.bunn@ic.nc.gov (919) 716-1708 (919) 807-2696
Compliance Assistant Susan Miller susan.miller@ic.nc.gov (919) 716-1707 (919) 807-2696
Paralegal/
Accounting Clerk
Alicia O'Neal Ellis alicia.ellis@ic.nc.gov (919) 716-1729 (919) 807-2696
Paralegal Kristen Calcaterra kristen.calcaterra@ic.nc.gov (919) 716-1730 (919) 807-2696
N.C. Department of Justice Grace Linthicum glinthicum@ncdoj.gov (919) 716-6831 (919) 807-2696