State Seal
State of North Carolina
Office of the Governor
Michael F. Easley  

Release: IMMEDIATE Contact: Sondra Artis
Date: 9/26/2007 Phone: (919) 733-5612

Lattimore Steps Down After 7 Years as Chairman, Will Continue on the Commission
Raleigh - Gov. Mike Easley today named Pamela Thorpe Young of Cary chairwoman of the North Carolina Industrial Commission to succeed current Chairman Buck Lattimore who asked to be relieved of his chairman duties. Young was appointed as commissioner in May 2003 and has served as its vice chair since April 2004. Young will assume leadership of the commission on October 1.
“Pam has distinguished herself through hard work and dedication,” said Easley. “She has demonstrated time and time again her commitment to serving the people of North Carolina. I have the utmost confidence in her ability to lead this vital commission.”
Young formerly served as the deputy secretary and legal counsel for the Department of Cultural Resources and also as a deputy commissioner of the N.C. Industrial Commission from 1996 until 2002. She also was ethics adviser to the Texas Speaker of the House of Representatives and from 1990 to 1992 served as an assistant district attorney in Austin, Travis County, Texas.
Young received her bachelor's degree from the UNC at Chapel Hill in 1980 and her law degree from N.C. Central School of Law in 1985.
Easley expressed appreciation for Lattimore’s seven years of service as commission chairman. “Buck has strengthened the commission’s fraud unit, broadened the safety education program and strengthened the mediation program to handle cases more efficiently,” Easley said. “He has served as a diligent chairman of the commission and I am grateful for his service.”
The Industrial Commission administers the Workers' Compensation Act, Law Enforcement Officers’, Fireman’s Rescue Squad Workers’ and Civil Air Patrol members, Death Benefits Act, Tort Claim Act, and Childhood Vaccine-related Injury Compensation Program. The seven members on the N.C. Industrial Commission serve six-year terms and are all appointed by the Governor.

Office of the Governor
116 W. Jones Street, Suite 202, Raleigh , NC 27603-8001
Phone: (919) 733-5612
Fax: (919) 733-5166
An Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action Employer