Michael F. Easley

State of North Carolina
Office of the Governor

For Release:
April 8, 2004
Contact:    Kasey Bensinger
Phone:       (919) 733-5612


RALEIGH—Gov. Mike Easley has named Pamela Thorpe Young of Cary to serve as vice chair of the North Carolina Industrial Commission. Easley appointed Young to the commission in May of 2003.

“Pam’s extensive legal qualifications and her strong record of public service make her a natural choice for this leadership position with the Industrial Commission,” Gov. Mike Easley said.

Young was the deputy secretary for the arts and libraries and legal counsel for the N.C. Department of Cultural Resources from 2002 to 2003. Previously, she served as a deputy commissioner on the N.C. Industrial Commission. She has also worked as a policy analyst for the N.C. Governor’s Office of State Planning and an assistant county attorney for Travis County in Texas. Young received her bachelor’s degree from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in 1980 and her law degree from North Carolina Central University School of Law in 1985.

The Industrial Commission administers the Workers’ Compensation Act, Law Enforcement Officers’, Fireman’s Rescue Squad Workers’ and Civil Air Patrol members, Death Benefits Act, Tort Claim Act, and Childhood Vaccine-related Injury Compensation Program. The board has seven members, each serving a 6-year term. The governor appoints all members and designates from their number the chair and vice chair. The Industrial Commission is currently chaired by Buck Lattimore.


Governor's Press Office
State Capitol, Raleigh, NC 27603-8001
(919) 733-5612 - Toll Free 1-800-662-7005
FAX (919) 733-5166

N.C. Industrial Commission · 4340 Mail Service Center · Raleigh, NC 27699-4340
Main Telephone: (919) 807-2500 · Fax: (919) 715-0282
NCIC Home Page: http://www.comp.state.nc.us/