Beverly Eaves Perdue, Governor Pamela T. Young, Chair



Bernadine S. Ballance, Commissioner Linda Cheatham, Commissioner Danny L. McDonald, Commissioner Staci Meyer, Commissioner Christopher Scott, Commissioner Tammy R. Nance, Commissioner

North Carolina Industrial Commission

(date)

| Employee: | |
|-------------------|--|
| Date of Injury: | |
| IC File No: | |
| Employer: | |
| Employer Code No: | |

NOTICE OF FAILURE TO OBTAIN WORKERS' COMPENSATION INSURANCE AND PENALTY HEARING

The North Carolina Industrial Commission is charged with the responsibility of ensuring that companies that do business in this State maintain the workers' compensation coverage required by Chapter 97 of the North Carolina General Statutes. The Commission's records reflect that you **do not** have a workers' compensation insurance policy covering the above date of injury.

Pursuant to G. S. 97-94, any employer who willfully fails to carry workers' compensation coverage is guilty of a Class H felony and shall be punished by a fine of up to \$100.00 for every day you remain uninsured. Failure to carry workers' compensation coverage through neglect is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor and is also punishable by a fine of up to \$100.00 for every day you remain uninsured.

This letter serves as notice that you are being placed on a Penalty Hearing Calendar where your attendance and response to your status as an uninsured employer is required. Following this letter, you will receive by mail a calendar of the Penalty Hearing docket along with detailed information regarding the hearing. You may request to be removed from this calendar by responding to this letter within ten (10) days of receipt, with documentation that you are in compliance with the requirements of Chapter 97 of the North Carolina General Statutes.

Sincerely,

SAMPLE LETTER Hugh A. Harris Director of Claims Administration NC Industrial Commission 4335 Mail Service Center Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-4335 Telephone Number: (919) 807-2506