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IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF NORTH CAROLINA
No. COA18-918

Filed: 26 March 2019

North Carolina Industrial Commission, I.C. Nos. X48418 and X92876

ELIZABETH BALL, Employee, Plaintiff
V.

BAYADA HOME HEALTH CARE, Employer, ARCH INSURANCE GROUP, INC.,
Carrier (GALLAGHER BASSETT SERVICES, INC., Third-Party Administrator),
Defendants.

Appeal by defendants from opinion and award entered 25 June 2018 by the
North Carolina Industrial Commission. Heard in the Court of Appeals 26 February

2019.

Ganly & Ramer PLLC, by Thomas F. Ramer, for plaintiff-appellee.

Brewer Defense Group, by Joy H. Brewer, for defendants-appellants.

DAVIS, Judge.

Bayada Home Health Care (“Bayada”) and its insurance carrier Arch
Insurance Group (collectively “Defendants”) appeal from the 25 June 2018 opinion
and award of the North Carolina Industrial Commission awarding Elizabeth Ball

(“Plaintiff’) workers’ compensation benefits for an injury sustained during the course
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of her employment at Bayada. After a thorough review of the record and applicable
law, we affirm.
Factual and Procedural Background
This dispute between the parties is before us for the second time. The facts
giving rise to this appeal are set out in full in our previous opinion.

Plaintiff began her employment as a certified nurse’s
assistant with [Bayada] on 26 May 2010. Plaintiff worked
on a part-time basis for Bayada from 26 May 2010 until 30
November 2010, when she began to work a full-time
schedule. During this time in her employment, Plaintiff
earned $8.00 per hour. In February 2011, Plaintiff was
transferred from Bayada’s Asheville office to its
Hendersonville office, where she began working with a
single, specific client (“the client”). As a result of this
change, Plaintiff began working an increased number of
hours, and at an increased wage — $10.00 per hour. On
Plaintiff’s first day of work with the client at the higher
hourly rate, 10 February 2011, Plaintiff was injured when
the client, who suffered from Alzheimer’s, pushed Plaintiff
down several stairs.

Plaintiff sought medical treatment for her injuries that
same day and was released to limited duty work. Three
days later, Plaintiff requested a release for full work duty
and was granted such by her medical care provider.
Despite her 10 February 2011 injury, Plaintiff continued to
work for the client, with the attendant increase in hours
and rate of pay, through 18 May 2011. On that date,
Plaintiff alleged, she suffered a second injury while
working with the client.

Plaintiff filed a Form 18 on 20 March 2012 informing
[Defendants] of her 10 February 2011 incident. In the
Form 18, Plaintiff claimed injuries to her left hand, both
knees, and right hip from the 10 February 2011 incident.
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Plaintiff filed a second Form 18 on the same day, informing
Defendants of the alleged 18 May 2011 incident, and
claimed injuries in that incident to both of her knees.
Defendants admitted the compensability of Plaintiff's 10
February 2011 injury to her right leg, but denied the
compensability of the injuries to her hips and hands.
Defendants also denied compensability of all injuries
stemming from the 18 May 2011 incident. Despite denying
the compensability of Plaintiff's alleged 18 May 2011
injuries, Defendants filed a Form 60 on 10 June 2011,
admitting Plaintiff’s disability resulting from the injuries
began on 19 May 2011.

Plaintiff filed a Form 33 on 31 May 2012, requesting that
her disability claim be assigned for hearing, and a hearing
was held before a deputy commissioner on 26 May 2015.
Following that hearing, the deputy commissioner filed an
opinion 16 August 2012 concluding as a matter of law that
Plaintiff suffered compensable injuries on both 10
February 2011 and 18 May 2011. The deputy
commissioner also determined that the appropriate
method to determine Plaintiff’s average weekly wage was
Method 5, as listed in N.C.G.S. § 97-2(5), which resulted in
an average weekly wage of $510.33 and a corresponding
weekly compensation rate of $340.24 for Plaintiff’s
temporary total disability payments. Defendants appealed
to the Commission.

Upon its de novo review, the Commission concluded as a
matter of law that, inter alia: (1) Plaintiff had suffered a
compensable injury on 10 February 2011; (2) there was not
sufficient, competent evidence of Plaintiff’s being injured
on 18 May 2011; (3) Plaintiff’s disability began on 19 May
2011; and (4) Plaintiff had ongoing medical treatment
needs. The Commission concluded as a matter of law that
Methods 1, 2, and 4, as listed in N.C.G.S. § 97-2(5), were
inapplicable to the facts of the present case, and as such
that utilization of Method 3 for calculation of average
weekly wage applied to Plaintiff’s claim.
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The Commission determined that, applying Method 3,

Plaintiff was entitled to an average weekly wage of $284.79

with a compensation rate of $189.87. The Commission

further found that calculation of Plaintiff’'s average weekly

wage using Method 3 was fair and just to both Plaintiff and

Defendants. Plaintiff appeals.
Ball v. Bayada Home Health Care, __ N.C. App. __, __, 803 S.E.2d 692, 693-94 (2017)
(quotation marks and brackets omitted) (hereinafter “Ball I”).

In an opinion filed on 15 August 2017, this Court reversed the Commission’s
opinion and award, holding that the Commission “erred in utilizing Method 3 in N.C.
Gen. Stat. § 97-2(5) because use of that method is not fair and just to [Plaintiff], as
required by that statute.” Id. at __, 803 S.E.2d at 694 (quotation marks omitted). We
remanded the case “for a determination of Plaintiff’s average weekly wages utilizing
Method 5, and appropriately considering Plaintiff’s post-injury work.” Id. at __, 803
S.E.2d at 696.

On 25 June 2018, the Commission filed an amended opinion and award. The
opinion and award contained the following pertinent finding of fact with regard to the
calculation of Plaintiff’s average weekly wage according to the fifth method set out in
N.C. Gen. Stat. § 97-2(5):

52. The fifth statutory method allows for calculation of
average weekly wage by using “such other method” that
will “most nearly approximate the amount which the
injured employee would be earning were it not for the
injury.” The average weekly wage which most nearly

approximates the amount which plaintiff would be earning
were it not for her injuries in her employment with
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defendant-employer is represented by all wages plaintiff
earned before and after her first injury, while working
part-time, full-time, and at both $8.00 per hour and $10.00
per hour. The Form 22 Statement of Days Worked and
Earnings of Injured Employee stipulated into evidence by
the parties shows plaintiff earned gross wages in the
amount of $10,286.88 over a period of 176 days (or 25.14
weeks) while working for defendant-employer from May
26, 2010 through May 18, 2011. This results in an average
weekly wage of $409.18 with a corresponding
compensation rate of $272.80. The Full Commission finds
that calculation of plaintiff’s average weekly wage using
this fifth statutory method is fair and just to both plaintiff
and defendants and the most appropriate method to utilize
in this matter.

Based upon its findings of fact, the Commission concluded that “plaintiff’s
average weekly wage utilizing the fifth statutory method and considering all wages
earned, both before and after her first injury, is $409.18 with a corresponding
compensation rate of $272.80.” On 20 July 2018, Defendants filed a timely notice of
appeal.

Analysis

Defendants’ sole argument on appeal is that the Commission erred in its
calculation of Plaintiff’s average weekly wage pursuant to the fifth statutory method
set out in N.C. Gen. Stat. § 97-2(5). Specifically, they contend that the Commission’s
calculation “assigns inappropriate weight to plaintiff’s post-injury earnings . .. and
does not closely approximate the amount plaintiff would have earned but for her

injury[.]” We disagree.
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Appellate review of an opinion and award of the Industrial Commission is
typically “limited to consideration of whether competent evidence supports the
Commission’s findings of fact and whether the findings support the Commission’s
conclusions of law.” Philbeck v. Univ. of Mich., 235 N.C. App. 124, 127, 761 S.E.2d
668, 671 (2014) (citation and quotation marks omitted). “The findings of fact made
by the Commission are conclusive on appeal if supported by competent evidence even
if there is also evidence that would support a contrary finding. The Commission’s
conclusions of law, however, are reviewed de novo.” Morgan v. Morgan Motor Co. of
Albemarle, 231 N.C. App. 377, 380, 752 S.E.2d 677, 680 (2013) (internal citation
omitted), aff'd per curiam, 368 N.C. 69, 772 S.E.2d 238 (2015).

“In North Carolina, the calculation of an injured employee’s average weekly
wages 1s governed by N.C. Gen. Stat. § 97-2(5).” Conyers v. New Hanover Cty. Sch.,
188 N.C. App. 253, 255, 654 S.E.2d 745, 748 (2008). The statute “sets forth in priority
sequence five methods by which an injured employee’s average weekly wages are to
be computed.” Shaw v. U.S. Airways, Inc., 362 N.C. 457, 459, 665 S.E.2d 449, 451
(2008) (citation and quotation marks omitted).

N.C. Gen. Stat. § 97-2(5) provides, in pertinent part, as follows:

[Method 3]: Where the employment prior to the injury
extended over a period of fewer than 52 weeks, the method
of dividing the earnings during that period by the number
of weeks and parts thereof during which the employee

earned wages shall be followed; provided, results fair and
just to both parties will be thereby obtained.
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[Method 5]: But where for exceptional reasons the
foregoing would be unfair, either to the employer or
employee, such other method of computing average weekly
wages may be resorted to as will most nearly approximate
the amount which the injured employee would be earning
were it not for the injury.

N.C. Gen. Stat. § 97-2(5) (2017).

This Court has stated that the “dominant intent” of N.C. Gen. Stat. § 97-2(5)
“is to obtain results that are fair and just to both employer and employee.” Conyers,
188 N.C. App. at 256, 654 S.E.2d at 748 (citation omitted).

The words “fair and just” may not be considered
generalities, variable according to the predilections of the
individuals who from time to time compose the
Commission. These words must be related to the standard
set up by the statute. Results fair and just, within the
meaning of N.C.G.S. § 97-2(5), consist of such average
weekly wages as will most nearly approximate the amount
which the injured employee would be earning were it not
for the injury, in the employment in which he was working
at the time of his injury.

BallI, __ N.C. App. at __, 803 S.E.2d at 694 (citation, quotation marks, and brackets
omitted).

In evaluating Defendants’ argument, we find instructive cases in which our
appellate courts have determined that the application of Method 5 produced a more
equitable result than Method 3 for purposes of calculating an employee’s average

weekly wage. In Joyner v. A. J. Carey Oil Co., Inc., 266 N.C. 519, 146 S.E.2d 447
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(1966), the plaintiff worked part-time as a truck driver on an as-needed basis. Id. at
519, 146 S.E.2d at 448. Our Supreme Court noted that the nature of the employee’s
work was “inherently part-time and intermittent. It does not provide work in each of
the 52 weeks of the year; some weeks the job is nonexistent.” Id. at 522, 146 S.E.2d
at 450. Consequently, the Court concluded that the application of Method 5 was
appropriate because “[flairness to the employer requires that we take into
consideration both peak and slack periods.” Id.

This Court reached a similar conclusion in Conyers. That case involved an
injury suffered by a school bus driver who worked only ten months during the
previous year. Conyers, 188 N.C. App. at 254, 654 S.E.2d at 747. We determined that
the Commission’s utilization of Method 3 was inappropriate because “[the employer]
would be unduly burdened while [the employee] would receive a windfall.” Id. at 259,
654 S.E.2d at 750. Noting that “Plaintiff’s employment had peak times where she
worked full time, and slack periods where she did not work at all[,]” this Court
reversed and remanded the case to the Commission with instructions to calculate the
driver’s average weekly wage using Method 5 because that method “most nearly
approximates the amount Plaintiff would be earning were it not for her injury.” Id.
at 260, 261, 6564 S.E.2d at 751 (quotation marks omitted).

In Ball I, we determined that the application of Method 3 was unfair to

Plaintiff and remanded to the Commission with instructions to instead utilize Method
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5 in calculating her average weekly wage. Ball I, __ N.C. App. at __, 803 S.E.2d at

696.

We hold that only taking into account Plaintiff’s pre-injury
compensation, through use of Method 3, is unfair to
Plaintiff, as it ignores the months of increased hours and
pay Plaintiff worked after her 10 February 2011 injury,
and would effectively treat Plaintiff as if she had never
worked increased hours at a higher rate of pay. We must
reject the use of Method 3 on the facts of the present case,
as use of that method squarely conflicts with the statute’s
unambiguous command to use a methodology that will
most nearly approximate the amount which the injured
employee would be earning were it not for the injury.
Defendants admitted that Plaintiff was disabled as a result
of her 10 February 2011 injury. In order to most nearly
approximate what Plaintiff would be earning if she had not
been injured, we believe that Plaintiff’s post-injury work
must be taken into account.

Id. at __, 803 S.E.2d at 695 (internal citations and quotation marks omitted).

On remand, as directed by this Court, the Commission utilized Method 5 in
calculating Plaintiff’s average weekly wage. In so doing, the Commission determined
that the “average weekly wage which most nearly approximates the amount which
plaintiff would be earning were it not for her injuries . . . is represented by all wages
plaintiff earned before and after her first injury, while working part-time, full-time,
and at both $8.00 per hour and $10.00 per hour.” Accordingly, the Commission
divided Plaintiff’s gross wages ($10,286.88) by the total number of days on which she
actually worked (176 days or 25.14 weeks) to calculate her average weekly wage

($409.18).
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We are satisfied that the Commission’s calculation of Plaintiff’s average weekly
wage in this manner “most nearly approximate[s] the amount which [Plaintiff] would
be earning were it not for the injury.” N.C. Gen. Stat. § 97-2(5). Furthermore, by
dividing Plaintiff’s gross wages by the total number of days on which she worked, the
Commission’s method of calculation was also fair to Defendants in that it “[took] into
consideration both peak and slack periods.” Joyner, 266 N.C. at 522, 146 S.E.2d at
450. Therefore, we hold that the Commission did not err in its calculation of
Plaintiff’s average weekly wage.

Conclusion

For the reasons stated above, we affirm the Commission’s 25 June 2018 opinion
and award.

AFFIRMED.

Chief Judge McGEE and Judge DIETZ concur.

This opinion was authored by Judge Davis prior to 25 March 2019.

Report per Rule 30(e).
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