Governor Appoints Two New Members of the N.C. Industrial Commission

Governor Appoints Two New Members of the N.C. Industrial Commission

On October 30, Governor James B. Hunt, Jr. announced the appointments of Christopher Scott and Renée C. Riggsbee as Commissioners of the North Carolina Industrial Commission.

Chris Scott is a graduate of Hofstra University in Hempstead, NY, with a BA degree in English Literature. He earned a Master's Degree in English Literature from the University of Texas. For the past 14 years, he has been President of the North Carolina State AFL-CIO. Prior to becoming president, he was Secretary-Treasurer and Research Director of the State AFL-CIO, and Director of Research for Teamsters Local #391. From l977 to 1978, he was a Policy Advisor to Governor Hunt. He has also been a public school teacher.

In addition to his work experience, Mr. Scott has served on the Governor's Committee on Workforce Preparedness, the Advisory Committee of the N.C. Health Planning Commission, the Industrial Commission's Advisory Council, the Tax Fairness Study Commission, the Advisory Board of the Z. Smith Reynolds Foundation, and the Board of the N.C. Civil Liberties Union.

Mr. Scott is appointed to a term that ends April 30, 2003.

Renée Riggsbee is a cum laude graduate of Meredith College and earned her Juris Doctor degree from the University of North Carolina School of Law. She was admitted to the North Carolina Bar in August 1986.

Ms. Riggsbee has been Claims Counsel for Lawyers Mutual Liability Insurance Company with offices in Cary. Previously, she was Senior Litigation Associate for the firm of Bailey & Dixon in Raleigh. She was a law clerk for Judge Jack Cozort of the N.C. Court of Appeals and a staff attorney for Employment Law Research, where she did research and writing for sections of Larson's Treatises on Workers' Compensation.

Ms. Riggsbee is the author of "Service of Initial Process" and "Jurisdiction" chapters in the Pretrial volume of a Practice Guides series for American Inns of Court, to be published by Lawyers Cooperative Publishing in l997.

Ms. Riggsbee is appointed to a term that ends June 30, 2002.

Return to NCIC Home Page (best viewed with Netscape and Internet Explorer)

Return to NCIC Alternate Home Page