

Bernadine S. Ballance, Commissioner Buck Lattimore, Commissioner Laura K. Mavretic, Commissioner Danny L. McDonald, Commissioner Christopher Scott, Commissioner Dianne C. Sellers, Commissioner

North Carolina Industrial Commission

SUMMARY INSTRUCTIONS FOR NEW FORMS AND PROCEDURES

Effective August 1, 2008

Pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. §97-78 and after extensive deliberations by a task force comprised of Industrial Commission staff, plaintiff and defense counsel, and carrier representatives, the Industrial Commission hereby adopts, effective August 1, 2008, new and/or revised Forms 18, 19, 25R, 26, 26A, 60 and 63.

Form 18, Notice of Accident to Employer and Claim of Employee, Representative, or Dependent

Form 19, Employer's Report of Employee's Injury or Occupational Disease to the Industrial Commission

Form 25R, Evaluation for Permanent Impairment

Form 26, Supplemental Agreement as to Payment of Compensation

Form 26A, Employer's Admission of Employee's Right to Permanent Partial Disability (NEW)

Form 60, Employer's Admission of Employee's Right to Compensation

Form 63, Notice to Employee of Payment of Compensation Without Prejudice or Payment of Medical Benefits Only Without Prejudice

As required by Rule 103(2), all parties will be required to use the new Forms. More information regarding the new Forms and <u>policies and procedures</u> for completing these Forms can be found at the Industrial Commission website or by viewing the <u>Minutes</u> adopted on July 22, 2008. The new Forms and policies and procedures shall become effective on **August 1, 2008**.

Additionally, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. §97-78, the Industrial Commission shall also assess a **\$200.00 sanction** against the employer or carrier when the employer or carrier

for the failure to file a response within 30 days after the Form 18 is filed. This policy is applicable to all cases in which a Form 18 was filed on or after April 1, 2008. During the implementation period of April 1, 2008 through July 31, 2008, no sanctions will be imposed.

Also, an employer or carrier will no longer be allowed to submit the Accord Workers' Compensation First Report of Injury or Illness form in lieu of a Form 19 for reporting an employee's injury or occupational disease. Pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. §97-92(a), the employer or carrier **must** use a Form 19, August 1, 2008 revision.

Furthermore, the employer or carrier will be required to use the new Form 26A for payment of a permanent partial disability rating, disfigurement, loss of teeth, or hearing loss **instead of** the Form 21 or 26.

A workshop on the new Forms and procedures will be held on Tuesday, October 14, 2008, at the Industrial Commission's 13th Annual North Carolina Workers' Compensation Educational Conference.