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January 9, 1995

TO: Insurance Carriers, Self-Insurance Administrators, Third Party
Administrators, Health Care Providers and other interested parties

FROM: The North Carolina Industrial Commission

SUBJECT: Carrier/TPA/Self-Insurance Administrator Application of NC Industrial
Commission Medical Fee Schedule

Beginning February 15, 1995, permission is hereby granted to those institutions
responsible for paying medical bills in Workers' Compensation claims under the North
Carolina Workers' Compensation Act to calculate those medical bills pursuant to the
approved medical fee schedule of the North Carolina Industrial Commission, as the same
may be changed from time to time.

The Commission recognizes that there will need to be changes and modifications to
this change in administration of the Medical Fee Schedule and it earnestly solicits
your constructive comments. Please send them in writing to the attention of
Commissioner Thomas J. Bolch at the above address.

The Commission periodically will publish reports concerning the efforts of firms handling
medical bills under this Rule to monitor them for duplication, relatedness to the injury,
redundancy, and unbundling, and their accuracy in applying the Commission’s Medical
Fee Schedule.

Those Payors desiring that the Industrial Commission continue to approve their bills in
accordance with the fee schedule are free to continue submitting their bills to the
Commission for approval. However, it is anticipated that the larger Insurance Carriers,
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Self-Insurance Administrators and Third Party Administrators will process their own
medical bills.

Hospital bills, including but not limited to “medical only” hospital bills, are not
included at this time among those bills being turned over to carriers, self-insureds and
third party administrators for calculation. Such hospital bills are subject to calculation in
accordance with the State Health Plan, the hospital plan that is applicable to employees of
the State of North Carolina. At the present time, hospital bills will be calculated by the
Industrial Commission or its agent. At a future time, hospital bills may also be turned over
to the carriers, self-insurance administrators and third party administrators for calculation
pursuant to the Industrial Commission fee schedule.

Bills of medical providers submitted pursuant to contracts with managed care
organizations are not subject to the Commission’s Medical Fee Schedule, pursuant to the
provisions of the Workers Compensation Reform Act of 1994 [NC GS §97-26(c)].

Health care providers shall submit charges to the insurer, self-insurance administrator or
third party administrator within 75 days of treatment, or if longer, within 30 days after the
end of the month during which multiple treatments were provided, or within such other
reasonable period of time as allowed by the Commission. If an insurer, self-insurance
administrator or third party administrator disputes a portion of a health provider’s bill, it
shall pay the uncontested portion of the bill and shall resolve disputes regarding the
balance of the charges in accordance with the dispute resolution procedures outlined
below.

Payors are required to maintain accurate records of their application of the Commission's
fee schedule for a minimum period of two years for all bills and for the duration of any
contest concerning any particular bill. These records shall include the bills submitted, the
Bill Analysis, workpapers and any correspondence concerning any of these. These
records shall include both human readable and machine readable records. That is to say if
any portion of the bills submitted, the Bill Analysis, workpapers or correspondence exist in
machine readable form, such machine readable form shall be maintained for the required
period of time. The Commission will audit these records periodically for compliance with
the Medical Fee Schedule. Results of the audit will be made public.

Carriers shall not charge against a case the amount of any overpayment determined by the
Commission after audit. The overpayment shall also be deducted from the medical claims
charges of the employer recorded for experience modification purposes.

Payors shall not charge against any specific case any fee for processing medical bills
pursuant to the Commission’s Medical Fee Schedule. Such bill processing shall be
absorbed in general overhead.
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Payments remitted to Payees shall contain a statement that the bill has been recalculated in
accordance with the Commission's fee schedule and shall include workpapers showing
the recalculation. The following language shall also be included with the payment and
workpapers:

This bill has been recalculated by the Payor in accordance with the Medical
Fee Schedule of the North Carolina Industrial Commission. The Industrial
Commission requires that questions and disputes concerning a particular
Payor's application of the Commission's fee schedule are to be resolved
between the Payor and the Payee in the first instance. If not capable of
resolution between the Payor and the Payee, they are to be referred by the
Payee to the Medical Fees Section of the Industrial Commission at (919) 733-
5055. Inresolving disputes, the Medical Fees Section will confer with its
medical consultant and, if necessary, the Medical Advisory Committee of the
North Carolina Industrial Commission. If not capable of resolution at this
level, bill disputes are subject to resolution by a formal hearing by the filing of
a Form 33, Request that Claim be Assigned for Hearing.

If any bill for services rendered under GS §97-25 by any provider of health
care is not paid within 60 days after its receipt by the Payor responsible for
direct reimbursement pursuant to GS §97-26(g), there may be added to such
unpaid bill an amount equal to ten per cent (10%) thereof [pursuant to GS
§97-18(g)], which may be paid at the same time as, but in addition to, such
medical bill. If the Payor disputes the 10% penalty it shall nonetheless
pay the remainder of the bill forthwith, and the provider can request a
hearing by filing a Form 33.

It is a criminal offense to bill any person for the difference in the
amount of the medical bill and the bill as reduced in accordance with

the Medical Fee Schedule. GS §97-90(b).

If you have any question regarding this analysis, please call (processor)
at (number) or
send your bill and the analysis to: (Name, Address and Fax Number of
Processor).

Payors shall pay providers only the amount authorized by the fee schedule. The amount,
timeliness and scrutiny of bills shall not be altered or affected in any way by any legal
dispute in the case, the provider’s role in the case, opinions of any provider expressed
concerning the case, or the party who selected the provider.
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Copies of the Commission's fee schedule (both in printed form and in magnetic media) are
available for a nominal fee by contacting the Commission at (919) 733-5055.

Items that are not defined by the Commission's fee schedule (in the past, handled as “By
Reports™) should be referred to B.J. Moore, the Commission's Chief Medical Fee
Examiner and she will cause those to be calculated in accordance with Commission
policy. “By Report” bills will be returned to the insurance carrier or self-insurer and not
to a third party processing bills.

Those entities processing medical bills are required to file with the Industrial Commission

a completed NCIC Form No. 51 by July 30 of each year. A copy of this form is
attached. Additional copies of this form may be obtained by calling (919) 733-1951.

In performing bill analysis, a carrier or self-insured may change a CPT code if it appears
to be incorrect, but only after discussing the proposed change with the provider and
only after obtaining agreement of the provider that it can be changed. The Bill
Analysis shall clearly show that the CPT code was changed and shall state the reason for
the change. If the provider refuses to agree to the proposed change, the dispute shall be
resolved in accordance with the dispute resolution procedure outlined above.

BEFORE processing medical bills pursuant to this directive, the carrier, self-
insurance administrator or third party administrator shall notify the Commission’s
Chief Medical Fee Examiner by letter of intent to do so, with start date, address,
phone and fax numbers and carrier code number.

By order of the Commission.
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RULE 404A
TRIAL RETURN TO WORK

(1) Except as provided in subparagraph (7), when compensation for total disability
being paid pursuant to G. S. 97-29 is terminated because the employee has returned to work for
the same or a different employer, such termination is subject to the provisions of G.S. 97-32.1-
Trial Return to Work. When compensation is terminated under these circumstances, the
employer/carrier shall file Industrial Commission Form 28R and serve a copy of that Form on the
employee snf the employee’s attorney of record, if any.

2) If during the trial return to work period, the employee must stop working due to the
injury for which compensation had been paid, the employee shall complete and file Industrial
Commission Form 28E and serve a copy of the completed Form on the employer/carrier. The
Form shall contain a section which must be completed by the employee’s authorized treating
physician certifying that thc cmployce’s injury for which compensation hsad been paid prevents
the employee from contiuing the trial return to work. If the employee returned to work with an
employer other than the employer and the time of injury, the employee must complete the Release
and Request For Employment Information section of IC Form 28E.

3) Upon reciept of a properly completed Form 28E , the employer/carrier shall
forthwith resume payment of compensation for total disability. If the employee fails to provide the
required certification of the authorized treating physician or to execute the Release and Request
section of the Form 28E if required the employer/carrier shall not be required to resume payment of
compensation. Instead, in such circumstances, the employer/carrier shall return the Form 28E to
the employee along with a statement explaining why the Form is being returned and why
copmpensation is not being reinstated. A copy of this explanation shall be sent to the employee’s
attorney of record, if any.

(4)  The reinstated compensation shall be due and payable on the date and for the period
commencing on the date the employer/carrier recieves a properly completed Form 28E certifying an
unsuccessful return to work. Such resumption of compensation shall not preclude the employee’s
right to seek, or the employer’s right to constest, the payment of compensation for the period prior
or subsequent to such reinstatement. If it is thereafter determined that any temporary total or
temporary partial compensation including the reinstated compensation, was not due and payable, a
credit sahll be given against any other compensation determined to be owed.

(5) When the employer/carrier has recieved a properly completed Form 28E and wishes
to contest the employee’s right to reinstatement of total disabililty compensation, it may suspend or
terminate compensation only as provided only as provided in G.S. 97-18.1 and/or pursuant to the
provisions of G.S. 97-83 and G.S. 97-84.

6) Upon resumption of paymentof compensation for total disability, the
employer/carrier shall complete Industrial Commission Form 62 and/or such other forms as may be
required by the Act or by Commission rule.

(7)  The trial return to work provisions do not apply to the following:
(a) “Medical only” cases, defined as cases in which the employee is absent from

work more than one (1) day and in which medical expenses are less than the
amount periodically established by the Commission in its Minutes;



(b) Cases in which the employee has missed fewer than eight (8) days from
work.

(c) Cases wherein the employee has been released to return to work by the
authorized treating physician without restriction or limitation except that if the authorized treating
physician, within 45 days of the employees return to work date, determines that the employee is
not able to perform the job duties asssigned , then the employer must reume benefits . If within the
same time period, the treating physician determincs that the employee may work only with
restrictions, then the employee is entitled to a resumption of benefits commencing as of the date of
the report, unless the employer is able to offer employment consistent with the restrictions , in
which case a trial return to work period shall be deemed to have commenced at the time of the
employee’s intial return to work; and

(d) Cases wherein the employee has accepted or agreed to accept compensation for
permanent partial disability pursuant to G. S. 97-31, unless the trial return to work follows
reinstatement of compensation for total disability under G.S. 97-29.



