N.C. Industrial Commission Contact Information:
Dennis Parnell
, Safety Director, parnelld@ind.commerce.state.nc.us
N.C. Industrial Commission
4339 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-4339
(919) 807-2602, cell: (919) 218-3000

Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

N.C. Department of Labor Is Now Accepting
Safety Award Application Forms

The N.C. Department of Labor is now accepting applications from businesses in North Carolina for its 2007 Annual Safety Awards and Million-Hour Safety Awards. (For details, see http://www.nclabor.com/osha/consult/safaward.htm.) Both awards recognize companies for maintaining excellent worker safety and health programs and showing a commitment to employees during 2007.

The N.C. Department of Labor safety awards program is open to any private company or public entity with a site in North Carolina. Those that qualify for an award are recognized at 30 banquets across the state featuring N.C. Labor Commissioner Cherie Berry. Banquets are co-sponsored by the local chambers of commerce, and members of the local news media are invited to attend.

Safety awards recognize companies with no work-related fatalities at the site and an incidence rate at least 50 percent below the industry average. Million-hour awards recognize companies for working 1 million man-hours, or multiples thereof, without an injury or illness requiring days away from work.

An organization may apply for one safety award for the entire organization, or the applications may be submitted for a division/department within the organization. If an organization chooses to apply by division/department, it must have at least 10 full-time employees in that division.

The 2007 Annual Safety Award application is posted on the N.C. Department of Labor web site at http://www.nclabor.com/osha/consult/2007_application.pdf (PDF file) and the Million-Hour Safety Award application is posted at http://www.nclabor.com/osha/consult/Million_Hour_App_2008.doc. Completed 2007 Annual Safety Award applications are due on February 15, 2008; Million-Hour Safety Award applications may be submitted at any time.

If you have any questions about the N.C. Department of Labor safety awards program, please telephone Labor Department safety awards coordinator Heather Crews at (919) 807-2908 or e-mail her at Heather.Crews@nclabor.com.

N.C. Industrial Commission    Safety Education Section
4339 Mail Service Center    Raleigh, NC 27699-4339
Telephone: (919) 807-2603    Fax: (919) 715-0282
NCIC Home Page: http://www.ic.nc.gov/