
 
 

 
 

4 NCAC 10E .0101 is proposed for amendment as follows:   1 

SUBCHAPTER 10E – WORKERS’ COMPENSATION RULES FOR UTILIZATION REVIEW 2 

ADMINISTRATIVE RULES OF THE INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION 3 

SECTION .0100 – RULES ADMINISTRATION 4 

4 NCAC 10E .0101  UTILIZATION REVIEW PLAN INSTRUCTIONS FOR FILING A 5 

PETITION FOR RULE-MAKING 6 

(a)  All insurance companies and self-insured administrators providing benefits under the North Carolina Workers' 7 

Compensation Act shall, within 90 days of the effective date of these Rules, adopt, file with the Chairman of the 8 

North Carolina Industrial Commission at 430 N. Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 27611 and implement a Utilization 9 

Review Plan for containing medical compensation services costs. If an entity has in effect a Utilization Review Plan 10 

that predates these Rules, it may file it with the Chairman of the Commission in lieu of adopting a new plan. 11 

(b)  The goal of such plans shall be to reduce costs without adversely affecting the quality of care to injured workers. 12 

(c)  Each plan shall provide for monitoring, evaluating, improving and promoting the quality of care and quality of 13 

services provided. 14 

(d)  Each plan shall address all areas and aspects of health care included in medical compensation within the 15 

meaning of the Workers' Compensation Act. 16 

(e)  Provider profiles shall be maintained and shall be filed with the Chairman of the Commission on a biennial 17 

basis, or on such other basis as may be ordered by the Commission from time to time, with the first filing to be made 18 

no later than 90 days after the effective date of these Rules. 19 

(a)  Any person may petition the Commission to adopt a new rule, or amend or repeal an existing rule by submitting 20 

a rule-making petition to the Chairperson of the Commission at 4336 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-4336.  21 

The petition must be titled “Petition for Rule-making” and must include the following information: 22 

(1) the name and address of the person submitting the petition; 23 

(2) a citation to any rule for which an amendment or repeal is requested; 24 

(3) a draft of any proposed rule or amended rule; 25 

(4) an explanation of why the new rule or amendment or repeal of an existing rule is requested and the 26 

effect of the new rule, amendment, or repeal on the procedures of the Commission; and 27 

(5) any other information the person submitting the petition considers relevant. 28 

(b)  The Chairperson (Chair) must decide whether to grant or deny a petition for rule-making within 30 days of 29 

receiving the petition.  In making the decision, the Chair will shall consider the information submitted with the 30 

petition and any other relevant information. 31 

(c)  When the Chair denies a petition for rule-making, he or she must send written notice of the denial to the person 32 

who submitted the request.  The notice must state the reason for the denial.  When the Chair grants a rule-making 33 

petition, he or she must initiate rule-making proceedings and send written notice of the proceedings to the person 34 

who submitted the request. 35 

Authority  G.S. 150B-20; 36 

Eff.  January 1, 2013 37 



 
 

 
 

4 NCAC 10E .0102 is proposed for amendment as follows:   1 

4 NCAC 10E .0102  MAILING LIST 2 

(a)  Any person or agency desiring to be placed on the mailing list for the Commission's rule-making notices issued 3 

pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2 may file a request in writing to the Chairperson of the Commission at 4336 Mail Service 4 

Center Raleigh, NC 27699-4336.   5 

(b)  The request shall:   6 

(1)  include the person’s name and address;  7 

(2)  specify the subject areas within the authority of the Commission for which notice is requested; and 8 

 (3)  state the calendar year(s) for which the notice is desired. 9 

Authority  G.S. 97-80(a); 150B-21.2(d); 10 

Eff.  January 1, 2013 11 
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4 NCAC 10E .0201 is proposed for amendment as follows:   1 

SECTION .0200 – FEES 2 

4 NCAC 10E .0201  DOCUMENT AND RECORD FEES 3 

(a)  The fees in this Rule apply to all subject areas within the authority of the Commission. 4 

(b)  Upon written request, to the extent permitted by Article 1 of Chapter 97, Article 31 of Chapter 143, and Chapter 5 

132 of the North Carolina General Statutes, transcripts of Commission proceedings, copies of recordings of 6 

Commission proceedings, copies of exhibits from Commission proceedings, and copies of all other public 7 

documents are available at the “actual cost” as defined by G.S. 132.6.2(b).  The Commission shall provide the 8 

“actual cost” on the Commission’s website.  the actual cost.   9 

 (f)  Certified copies are available upon request at a cost of one dollar ($1.00) per certification in addition to any 10 

other applicable cost for the document.  Electronic copy certification is not available. 11 

(g)  Documents shall be sent via certified mail upon request at the actual cost established by the United States Postal 12 

Service. 13 

(h)  North Carolina sales tax shall be added if applicable. 14 

Authority  G.S. 7A-305; 97-79; 97-80; 132-6.2; 143-291.1; 143-291.2; 143-300 15 

Eff.  January 1, 2013 16 
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4 NCAC 10E .0202 is proposed for amendment as follows:   1 

4 NCAC 10E .0202  HEARING COSTS OR FEES 2 

(a)  The following hearing costs or fees apply to all subject areas within the authority of the Commission: 3 

(1) one hundred twenty dollars ($120.00) for a hearing before a Deputy Commissioner; 4 

(2) one hundred twenty dollars ($120.00) if a case is withdrawn after the case is calendared for a 5 

specific hearing date; 6 

(3) two hundred twenty dollars ($220.00) for a hearing before the Full Commission; 7 

(4) one hundred twenty dollars ($120.00) if an appeal or request for review to the Full Commission is 8 

withdrawn before the appeal or request for review is scheduled for specific hearing date; 9 

(5) one hundred fifty-five dollars ($155.00) if an appeal or request for review to the  Full Commission 10 

is withdrawn after the appeal or request for review is calendared for specific hearing date; 11 

(6) one hundred twenty dollars ($120.00) for the dismissal of an appeal or request for review due to 12 

the failure to prosecute or perfect the appeal or request for review before the appeal or request for 13 

review is calendared for a specific hearing date; and 14 

(7) one hundred and fifty-five dollars ($155.00) for the dismissal of an appeal or request for review 15 

due to the failure to prosecute or perfect the appeal or request  for review after the appeal or 16 

request for review is calendared for a specific hearing date. 17 

(b)  Failure to pay fees or costs assessed by the Commission may result in further penalty, including a notice and 18 

order to show cause as to why a fee or cost assessed by the Commission has not been paid. 19 

Authority  G.S. 7A-305; 97-80; 143-291.1; 143-291.2; 143-300; 20 

Eff.  January 1, 2013 21 

22 



 
 

 
 

4 NCAC 10E .0203 is proposed for amendment as follows:   1 

4 NCAC 10E .0203  FEES SET BY THE COMMISSION 2 

(a)  In workers’ compensation cases, the Commission sets the following fees: 3 

(1) three hundred seventy-five dollars ($375.00) for the processing of a compromise settlement 4 

agreement; 5 

(2) two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00) for the processing a Form 21Agreement for Compensation for 6 

Disability, Form 26 Supplemental Agreement as to Payment of Compensation, or Form 26A 7 

Employer’s Admission of Employee’s Right to Permanent Partial Disability; 8 

(3) three hundred dollars ($300.00) for the processing of a request for a third party  distribution 9 

order; 10 

(4) one hundred seventy-five dollars ($175.00) for the processing of a Form 24 Application to Stop or 11 

Suspend Payment of Compensation; and 12 

(5) a fee equal to the filing fee required to file of a civil action in the Superior Court division of the 13 

General Court of Justice for the processing of a Form 33I Intervenor’s Request that Claim be Assigned 14 

for Hearing. 15 

(b)  In tort claims cases, the filing fee is an amount equal to the filing fee required to file a civil action in the Superior 16 

Court division of the General Court of Justice. 17 

Authority  G.S. 97-10.2; 97-17; 97-18.2; 97-26(i); 97-73; 97-80; 143-291.2; 143-300; 18 

Eff.  January 1, 2013 19 



4 NCAC 10E .0204 is proposed for amendment as follows:   1 

4 NCAC 10E .0204  ACCIDENT PREVENTION AND SAFETY EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM 2 

FEES 3 

(a)  The following fees shall be assessed for accident prevention and safety educational programs: 4 

 (1) one hundred twenty-five dollars ($125.00) per person for an Accident Prevention   5 

 Awareness (APCAP) Workshop; 6 

 (2) seventy-five dollars ($75.00) per person for an Advanced APCAP Workshop; 7 

 (3) thirty dollars ($30.00) per person for a Safety and Health Workshop; 8 

 (4) twenty dollars ($20.00) per person for a First Aid, CPR, and AED Course , plus   9 

 fifteen dollars ($15.00) per person for materials; 10 

 (5) fifteen dollars per person ($15.00) for a First Aid Course, plus twelve dollars   11 

 ($12.00) per person for materials; 12 

 (6) fifteen dollars per person ($15.00) for a CPR and AED Course, plus twelve   13 

 dollars ($12.00) per person for materials; 14 

 (7) twenty dollars ($20.00) per person for a Defensive Driving Course, plus four   15 

 dollars ($4.00) per person for materials; 16 

 (8) fifty dollars ($50.00) per person for a HAZWOPER OPS Course or Refresher   17 

 Course ; 18 

 (9) thirty dollars ($30.00) per person for a HAZWOPER Awareness Course; 19 

 (10) twenty-five dollars ($25.00) per person for a Work Zone Flagger Course , plus   20 

 five dollars ($5.00) for materials; 21 

 (11) thirty dollars ($30.00) per person for a Trenching Competent Person Course; 22 

 (12) thirty-five dollars ($35.00) per person for a Competent Person Scaffolding   23 

 Course; 24 

 (13) forty-five dollars ($45.00) per person for an eight-hour NFPA E Arc Flash   25 

 Course; 26 

 (14) thirty dollars ($30.00) per person for a four-hour NFPA E Arc Flash Course; 27 

 (15) fifty dollars ($50.00) per person for a Safety for Supervisors Course; 28 

 (16) one hundred fifty dollars ($150.00) per person for a Safety Leadership Course; 29 

 (17) a two hundred dollar ($200.00) flat fee for a (five to eight-hour) Workplace   30 

 Training; 31 

 (18) a one hundred-fifty dollar ($150.00) flat fee for a (three to four-hour)Workplace   32 

 Training (3-4 hours); and 33 

 (19) a one hundred dollar ($100.00) flat fee for a (one to two-hour) Workplace    34 

 Training.  35 



 
 

2 
 

(b)  In addition to the fees listed in Paragraph (a), each individual or group registering for a class must pay a four 1 

dollar and ninety-five cent ($4.95) registration processing fee to the Commission’s third party vendor upon 2 

registering for an educational program listed in Paragraph (a).  3 

Authority G.S. 97-73(d); 97-80; 4 

Eff.  January 1, 2013 5 



 
 

 
 

4 NCAC 10E .0301 is proposed for amendment as follows:   1 

SECTION .0300 – RULES OF THE COMMISSION 2 

4 NCAC 10E .0301  SUSPENSION OF RULES 3 

To prevent manifest injustice to a party, or to expedite a decision in the public interest, the Commission may, except 4 

as otherwise provided by the Rules in this Subchapter, suspend or vary the requirements or provisions of any of the 5 

Rules in this Subchapter in a case pending before the Commission upon application of a party or upon its own 6 

initiative, and may order proceedings in accordance with its directions. 7 

Authority  G.S. 97-25.2; 97-25.4; 97-80; 130A-425(d); 143-166.4;143-296; 143-300; 8 

Eff.  January 1, 2013 9 

 10 

 11 

  12 



 
 

 
 

4 NCAC 10E .0302 is proposed for amendment as follows:   1 

4 NCAC 10E .0302  SANCTIONS 2 

(a)  The Commission may, on its own initiative or motion of a party, impose a sanction against a party or attorney or 3 

both when the Commission determines that such party, or attorney, or both failed to comply with the Rules in this 4 

Subchapter. The Commission may impose sanctions of the type and in the manner prescribed by Rule 37 of the 5 

North Carolina Rules of Civil Procedure. 6 

(b)  Failure to timely file forms as required by either the Rules in this Subchapter or pursuant to the Act may result 7 

in fines or other sanctions. 8 

Authority  G.S. 1A-1, Rule 37; G.S. 97-18; 97-25; 97-25.2; 97-25.4; 97-25.5; 97-32.2; 97-80;  97-84; 97-88(1); 9 

130A-425(d); 143-166.4; 143-296;  143-300; 10 

Eff.  January 1, 2013 11 

 12 

 13 
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