North Carolina Industrial Commission IC File #

NOTICE OF ACCIDENT TO EMPLOYER AND CLAIM OF Emp. Code #
EMPLOYEE, REPRESENTATIVE, OR DEPENDENT Carrior Codo #
The Use of This Form Is Required Under the Provisions of the Workers' Compensation Act The I.C. File # is the unique identifier for

this injury. It will be provided by return
letter and is to be referenced in all future
correspondence.

Social Security Number Disclosure Statement

The North Carolina Public Records Act (N.C. Gen. Stat. § 132-1.10) permits the North Carolina Industrial Commission to request a social
security number from an individual when doing so is imperative to the performance of its duties and responsibilities. The purpose of
requesting your social security number on this form is for the Industrial Commission to verify the correct employer with the North
Carolina Department of Commerce, Division of Employment Security and to identify workers’ compensation insurance coverage. The
disclosure of a social security number by an individual to the Industrial Commission is voluntary. Social security numbers are
confidential and exempt from public disclosure by the Industrial Commission. The Industrial Commission may not share your social
security number unless otherwise permitted to do so pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 132-1.10.

Employee’s Name Employer's Name Telephone Number
Address Employer’'s Address City State Zip
City State Zip Insurance Carrier Policy Number
Home Telephone I:l I:l Work Telephone Carrier's Address City State Zip
- - M F I ( ) - ( ) -
Social Security Number Sex Date of Birth Carrier's Telephone Number Carrier's Fax Number

EMPLOYEE - This form must be filed with the Industrial Commission within two years of the date of injury or occupational
disease or your claim may be barred. Notice shall be given to the employer immediately after the accident or as soon as
practicable and within 30 days. (This form should also be used for occupational disease claims; however, for asbestosis,
silicosis and byssinosis, Form 18B is to be used.)

Notice is hereby given, as required by law, that the above-named employee sustained an injury or contracted an occupational disease,

described as follows: on [ at . Describe the injury or occupational disease,
Time of Injury Date (required) City and County
including the specific body part involved (e.g., right hand, left hand)

Describe how the injury or occupational diseaseoccurred:

Occupation when injured: Nature of employer’s business:
Medical treatment received? []Yes [1No Number of days out of work due to injury:
Weekly wage: $ Number of hours worked per day: Days worked per week:

NOTE: If employee is unable to sign this form, another may sign for him. This form should be typed or printed by hand in black ink, if
possible. Employee should retain one signed copy of this notice, mail one signed copy to the Industrial Commission at the address
below, and provide one signed copy to employer.

() -

Signature of (Check One)[] Employee,[] Attorney, Printed Name of Signer E-mail Address Telephone Number
[ Representative, or[] Dependent
I
Address City State Zip Code Date Completed

EMPLOYER: This notice is being sent to you in compliance with requirements of the North Carolina Workers’ Compensation Act, in
order that the medical services prescribed by the Act may be obtained; and, if disability extends beyond 7 days duration, or if death
ensues, compensation may be paid according to law.

FOR IC USE ONLY ATTORNEYS: FILE WITH AN IC FILE NUMBER VIA EDFP
RESEARGHER: HTTP://WWW.IC.NC.GOV/DOCFILING.HTML OR
ce: — IFNO IC FILE NUMBER, FOLLOW EMPLOYEE FILING OPTIONS.
FORM 18 EC: EMPLOYEES: E-MAIL TO: FORMS@IC.NC.GOV
4/2023 DATAENTRY: OR MAIL TO: NCIC - CLAIMS SECTION
1235 MAIL SERVICECENTER
PAGE 1 OF 2 RALEIGH, NC 27699-1235
FORM 18 MAIN TELEPHONE: (919) 807-2500 HELPLINE: (800) 688-8349

WEBSITE: HTTP://www.IC.NC.GOV/


http://www.ic.nc.gov/DOCFILING.HTML
mailto:FORMS@IC.NC.GOV
http://www.ic.nc.gov/
http://www.ic.nc.gov/

GENERAL INFORMATION ON THE FORM 18
1. What does a Form 18 do?

A Form 18 establishes a legal claim of injury on your behalf if filed within two years of the date of injury or occupational
disease, and gives the required written notice to the employer if a copy is submitted to the employer within 30 days of the
injury. The employer is required by law to file a Form 19 if the employee misses more than one day of work due to the
injury or if the medical bills exceed $4,000.00. However, the employer’s filing of a Form 19 does not satisfy the employee’s
obligation to file a claim. In order to ensure the employee’s rights are protected, the employee must file a Form 18 even
though the employer may be paying compensation or the Industrial Commission may have opened a file for the injury.

2. To whom should the Form 18 be sent?

The original Form 18 should be submitted to the Industrial Commission. The injured worker should keep one copy for his
or her records and one copy should be submitted to the employer at the time of the injury.

3. What numbers do I write in the upper right corner?

You do not need to fill in the spaces on the upper right corner of the Form 18. If you know that your employer has already
filed a report of injury, (Form 19) and you know what your I.C. (Industrial Commission), File Number is, you may write
the number in the “I.C. File No.” space. If you do not already have an I.C. File Number, the Industrial Commission will
assign one upon receipt of the Form 18. The other two spaces “Emp. Code No.” and “Carrier Code No.” are for internal use
only.

4. What if I do not know who my employer’s insurance carrier is?

If you do not know who the employer’s insurance carrier is you may either ask your employer for the information, call the
Industrial Commission’s Claims Administration Section at (800) 688-8349 then press “3” after the prompt, or simply leave
the line blank.

5. When listing the number of days out of work, do I count partial days?

Yes, you include partial as well as whole calendar days not worked. However, the days do not need to be consecutive.

6. What happens after I file the Form 18?

The Industrial Commission will mail an acknowledgement letter to you after your Form 18 is processed. Processing time
varies according to current workload. The Industrial Commission will mail a copy of the acknowledgement letter to the

employer or its workers’ compensation insurance carrier asking them to contact you and inform you if compensation will
be paid to you voluntarily.
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